Like all over the Commonwealth of Virginia, the County of Hanover also follows strict laws related to driving with expired registration. The laws are difficult and the penalties can cause you a severe loss of money and reputation.
Laws of Registration in Hanover County, VA
Hanover County, VA requires up to date and authentic registrations for motor vehicles. The Hanover County follows the laws for registration set under the Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles Chapter 6, § 46.2-600 of the Code of Virginia. The Code § 46.2-600 states the process for registration:
“Except as otherwise provided in this chapter every person who owns a motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, or his authorized attorney-in-fact, shall, before it is operated on any highway in the Commonwealth, register with the Department and obtain from the Department the registration card and certificate of title for the vehicle. Individuals applying for registration shall provide the Department with the residence address of the owner of the vehicle being registered. A business applying for registration shall provide the Department with the street address of the owner or lessee of the vehicle being registered”
Penalties Laws for Expired Registration in Hanover County, VA
If someone is charged with the expired registration and driving without a license or registration tags this means they can face some serious fines in Hanover County, VA. The penalties for the expired registration under the Code of Virginia § 46.2-613.1(A) states:
“A civil penalty of $250 and a processing fee of $20 shall be levied against any person who while at a permanent weighing station.” The various subdivisions of the Code define the conditions of the validity of the penalties. Furthermore, the section A (4(iii)) of the same code states that penalty will be charged if the owner of the vehicle:
“Operates or causes to be operated on any highway in the Commonwealth any motor vehicle requiring registration cards or identification markers from the Department after such registration cards or identification markers have been revoked, canceled, or suspended.”
This means an expired registration of the vehicle and delay in renewal of the registration can cause you a fine up to $250 and a processing fee of $20 plus in addition with any other penalty liability, tax and fee that may be levied by law as defined under the § 46.2-613.1(C).This penalty is also charged with other traffic offenses like driving without registration or driving without a license.
Registration Lawyer in Hanover County, VA
Driving with expired registration can cause you a serious trouble in Hanover County, VA. If you encountered a traffic ticket over an expired registration card in Hanover County, VA then an instant consultation with a lawyer is necessary. An experienced registration lawyer is well- versed with the with court environment. A well-fought case by the professional registration lawyer may help to reduce fines and charges